University - University Calendar

The University Calendar

The Semester System
The University calendar runs on a semester system. An academic year starts in the last week of September and ends in the second week of August. Each semester consists of 23 weeks: 18 weeks of teaching, 1 week of revision, 2 weeks of intra-semester breather, and 2 weeks of Examination.
- Under the semester system, students are examined at the end of each semester, basing the examinations on the material covered during that particular semester, rather than following the traditional system of annual comprehensive examinations.
- The competence-based semester system puts emphasis on the day-to-day monitoring, grading, and evaluation of the student’s performance, reasoning, and competencies.
Academic Sessions: An academic year comprises two semesters as indicated below:

Semesters 1, 3, 5, 7 and 9: September/October - February/March.
Semesters 2, 4, 6, 8 and 10: March/April - August/September.

Semesters 1, 3, and 5: September/October - February/March
Semesters 2, 4, and 6: March/April - August/September.

Semesters 1 and 2: September/October - February/March
Semesters 2 and 4: March/April - August/September.

  • PrintFriendly
  • Google+