About HKMU -

Introduction to Hubert Kairuki Memorial University

The Late Prof. Hubert C.M. Kairuki, The Founder

Mrs. Kokushubila Kairuki, Chairperson of the Board of Directors

Mr. John Ulanga, Chairperson of the University Council
The Kairuki Health and Education Network (KHEN) established Hubert Kairuki Memorial University (HKMU), initially as Mikocheni International University (MIU), in 1997. MIU’s name was changed to Hubert Kairuki Memorial University (HKMU) following the untimely demise of its founder, the late Prof. Hubert Kairuki in 1999, who was also the institution’s first Vice Chancellor. The second Vice Chancellor appointed to lead the institution was Prof. Esther Mwaikambo, and the immediate outgoing Vice Chancellor is Prof. Keto Mshigeni. Prof. Charles Stephen Mgone is the 4th and the current Vice Chancellor.

HKMU is a fully accredited and chartered University, recognized by the Government of United Republic of Tanzania, through the Tanzania Commission for Universities (TCU). HKMU is part of a Non- Governmental Organization, known as the Kairuki Health and Education Network (KHEN), incorporating the Kairuki Hospital and the Kairuki School of Nursing (KSN). The ownership of HKMU is vested in KHEN, a private company, limited by guarantee, not having share capital and incorporated in Tanzania, established for the provision of health and education services. HKMU is headed by a Chancellor, currently His Excellency, Dr. Salim Ahmed Salim, a member of the African Union’s Committee of the Wise.

Vision Statement: The Vision of HKMU is to become a model private University in Tanzania, and in Africa: a University that provides highest quality education, conducts cutting edge research, and provides exemplary to society.

Mission Statement: The Mission of HKMU is to educate liberally and broadly, qualify men and women to advance frontiers of knowledge through research, and provide consultancy and advisory services to the public.

Our Motto: "HKMU for a Brighter Future".

Core Values of the University:

Professionalism: We will strive to adhere to professional ethics and standards and impart this to our students. We will drive a change in this area

Excellence: We are committed to quality as ever. We will continue to recruit the most promising students, faculty, and staff, and provide them with the resources to excel.

Adaptability: We will lead Tanzania and the region in embracing scientific and technological advancements, and seek to adapt them to our local situation.

Collaboration: We are young and dynamic. We will seek to learn from the available best practices and to grow together with peers. We will encourage interdisciplinary courses, colloquia, and research, forming new alliances for innovation in the new sciences. We will provide an interface where students, administrators and staff work together for a common goal.

The governing organs of the University include the Board of Directors, whose Chairperson is Mrs. Kokushubila Kairuki; the University Council, whose Chairman is Mr. John Ulanga; the Senate, chaired by the Vice Chancellor, Prof.Charles S. Mgone; and Faculty Boards chaired by Deans of Faculties. HKMU is a member of various associations, such as Tanzania Association of Private Universities (TAPU); Founding Member and first Chair of the Forum of Universities and Colleges of Health Sciences in Tanzania (FUCHS-T); Member, The Inter University Council of East Africa (IUCEA); and Member, the International Association of Universities (IAU).

The University campus is located on plot No. 322 Kairuki Road in the Mikocheni area, some 7-km from the Dar es Salaam City centre, off Ali Hassan Mwinyi and Old Bagamoyo roads. Besides proximity to the Dar es Salaam beach resorts and hotels, HKMU has easy access to several major tourist attractions in Tanzania, including Bagamoyo, Saadani, Mikumi, the Selous national park, Kilwa, Mafia Marine Park, Udzungwa Mountains, and Zanzibar.

HKMU is an accredited Universityy with a Charter signed by H.E. the President of the United Republic of Tanzania, and it operates within the framework of Tanzania Commission for Universities (TCU). It was the first private University in Tanzania to be accredited in June 2000. HKMU has a wide range of facilities, including teaching and research laboratories, a library with a computerized catalogue, and full-time Internet access.

Currently, HKMU offers programmes in the Health Sciences only, but has plans to expand into other programmes and disciplines of science and the humanities. Our range of courses currently include Doctor of Medicine (MD), Bachelor of Science in Nursing Pre-Service Programme, Bachelor of Science in Nursing In-Service Programme, Diploma in Nursing Pre-Service programme, Diploma in Nursing In-Service Programme(through E- learning), Certificate in Wholistic Therapeutic Counseling. and the Computer Course (beginner to advanced). The University also runs several postgraduate courses, namely Master of Medicine (MMed) programmes in Internal Medicine, Surgery, Obstetrics and Gynaecology, Paediatrics and Child Health, Master of Science in Public Health (MScPH), and Master of Social Work (MSW).
  • PrintFriendly
  • Google+

In Brief

HKMU Alumni Association

Social Connect